Deactivate, Reset, Hide, Transfer, Or Replace a Tile Tracker

If you are wondering how to deactivate a Tile or how to reset a Tile to a new phone? You have come to the right place.

Why Should We Know How to Deactivate/Reset a Tile?

Nobody wishes to lose their wallet or keys. It is a taxing experience to encounter, and people are always looking for ways they can keep their personal belongings safe.

Luckily, since the introduction of Bluetooth trackers, people have been able to rest easy knowing that they will know about their belongings’ whereabouts in the event they got lost or stolen.

Out of all the different Bluetooth trackers making themselves known around the market, the Tile Bluetooth Tracker has been quite in demand ever since it came out, primarily because of its first-mover advantage and also because it is very simple to use, making it the perfect device for a task that doesn’t call for any more complexity.

What distinguishes Tile Bluetooth trackers is their ability to grab the Bluetooth signal of a connected device and refresh the app with its whereabouts, even if your device is miles away.

However, by design, these little trackers are a bit hard to remove. Since the item is primarily used for tracking important belongings like wallets, keys, and phones, the brand has made sure that a user cannot get rid of the tracker too easily.

It makes complete sense; being able to remove the tracker defeats the purpose of the product entirely- what if a thief runs away with your items and removes the trackers right away? That would be a bummer.

However, there could be times when you want to remove an account from your tracker. Perhaps you are selling them to someone else, or you simply want to give them away to someone close.

For such situations, it is essential to know how to reset a Tile tracker. In this article, we will discuss not only how to deactivate a Tile but also how to reset a Tile. Keep reading to find out more!

Deactivate a Tile:

You usually won’t need to deactivate a Tile, but for times when you don’t want to settle for any of the other options, it is essential to know how to deactivate a Tile. Note that once you deactivate an account, you will not be able to reactivate it, by any means, owing to security policies. So, take the decision accordingly.

PS: if you are experiencing the issue of the Tile not working, here are the top solutions for you.

Hide a Tile:

Suppose you have a Tile product that has a dead battery, or perhaps you just don’t need to use it anymore. In such cases, you can hide a Tile from your list. Note that this doesn’t deactivate the Tile from your account, but it just temporarily hides it so that you don’t receive notifications for it. The option is flexible since if you ever change your mind, you can unhide the tracker from the Settings.

Transfer a Tile:

For times when you want to give away your tracker to someone else, be it for gifting or just security purposes, this option comes in handy. However, you will have to reach out to the Customer Support of the company to help you do this.

Replace a Tile:

Tiles come with a non-removable battery which means there will come a time when the juice from the battery will run out, and you have to replace your Tile with a new one. Replacing your old Tile with a new one will automatically deactivate the old Tile.

We will go over each of the options thoroughly in this article. But, before we go over the other options, let’s learn how to reset a Tile Tracker. If you wish to reset your Tile, all you have to do is press and hold down the Tile button for about 10 seconds. This should reboot your device.


How to Deactivate a Tile

From a logical perspective, the above options should be sufficient to deal with any issues you are having.

However, if you want to be extra secure and make sure that no one can access your Tile account, you can delete your Tile forever. Here’s how to deactivate a Tile:

  • Chat support: The first method using which you can deactivate your Tile is to contact the support team. Go to your browser and go to the Tile Online Help Center. Click on the ‘How Can We Help?‘ section and tap on Live Support. Now you will be able to start chatting with a representative. Do note that you can only avail of live support from 8:30 AM to 5:30 PM Pacific. For other times, you can go for the virtual assistant, which is seldom of any help in this case.
Deactivate a Tile via Live Support
  • Email support: If you could not reach out to the Support Team during the time given, there is something else you can do. Go to your browser and go to the Tile Online Help Center. Click on Submit a Ticket, and you will be given a form asking you questions regarding what you need help with. Fill out the form and submit it, and the Support Team will get back to you through email.

Remember, deactivating your Tile can be a drag, so you should definitely avoid doing so unless you really need to deactivate a Tile totally. When you deactivate your Tile, it becomes utterly useless.

You will not be capable of activating it again, and nobody else will be allowed to use this on their account. Regardless, for security purposes, we have shown you how to deactivate a Tile.


How to Hide a Tile

As explained above, there could be several reasons for you wanting to hide your Tile. Follow the steps below:

1: Launch the Tile application on your device.

2: Swipe the Tile you wish to hide, and you will come across a menu. Click on the red Hide option. Tapping on it will simply temporarily hide the item from your list but won’t deactivate it. You won’t receive any notifications for the Tile you have hidden.

Hide a Tile

If you ever change your mind and want to unhide the item so that it appears on your list, you can do so easily. Just follow the steps below.

1: Click on the Settings menu at the top of the home screen.

Tile App Settings

2: Keep scrolling until you find the section labeled Manage Hidden Tiles. Click on it.

Manage Hidden Tiles

3: Under this section, you will be able to see all the Tiles you hid. Go over to the Tile you wish to unhide and just tap on the Unhide option next to it.

Unhide Titles

There is no limit to how many times you can hide or unhide your Tiles.


How to Transfer a Tile

Transferring a Tile to someone else is a little bit more complicated, but it’s nothing that can’t be accomplished.

Before you begin, you will be demanded certain details like your email ID, the email ID of the individual you are transferring your Tile to as well as the ID of the Tile you wish to transfer.

You will obviously be aware of your own email ID. Next, you need to be certain that the individual that you are transferring to has installed the Tile application on their device.

Ask them to send you the email ID with which they have registered their account on the Tile app. Lastly, you need to find the ID of the Tile you are transferring. This one’s a little tricky.

Follow the steps below to your Tile ID.

1: Launch the Tile application on your device.

2: Swipe the Tile you wish to transfer, and you will come across a menu. Click on the gray Edit option.

Edit Title

3: Once you go to the Edit page, you will notice an alphanumeric code beside the section labeled Tile Identifier. Note it down.

Tile Identifier

After you have gathered all the necessary information, you are required to mail all this to team@thetileapp.com. Make sure that you are emailing this from the email ID registered on your account. This is how to reset a Tile to a new phone.


How to Replace an Old Tile

Your Tile products are backed by a one-year guarantee. Regardless, the products usually last longer than that. Yet, you can always need a replacement for numerous reasons.

It’s best to contact the Support Team for Tile, and they will guide you through how to replace an old Tile with a new one since it can be a lengthy process.


Final Thoughts

That’s it; we have shown you how to deactivate a Tile as well as how to reset a Tile to a new phone. We hope we could help you!

Jack

Jack

Ten years of experience in information and computer technology. Passionate about electronic devices, smartphones, computers, and modern technology.